Polynomial Division: An #OpenMiddle Problem

In Precalculus, we’ve just wrapped up our work with polynomials – including long division. I was definitely not looking forward to this topic – I haven’t taught it before (or been taught it formally) and the #mtbos had me a little bit.

On our practice set, at the bottom I added this problem as an extension for students who completed the traditional practice set:

screen-shot-2016-10-14-at-5-46-07-pm

I got some interesting responses that made me pretty pleased- but I didn’t (and haven’t) check these for accuracy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What I didn’t want to do verify all of them….so instead I had students do it! I typed up the questions onto a worksheet and passed them out to class the next day. Their assignment: Yesterday students created these problems and claimed there was not a remainder. Choose four problems and determine if the students are correct. This was a solid move – I didn’t have to check all the work and students got more practice.

 

Next time I need to wrap our work back together before assessment. Most students did really well on the assessment but closure could have brought this activity to the next level. We also could have given feedback on how to improve their work (One thing you did wrong was… etc.). I will also include more time for all students to create a problem to feel more invested in the work we did on the second day of instruction.

Leave a Reply

