#NCTMAnnual: Thursday

Earlier in April, I have the privilege of attending NCTM’s annual meeting in San Francisco. I’m going to spend the next bit breaking down the sessions I attended and being more concrete about my next steps as an educator.

Math Mistakes and Error Analysis: Diamonds in the Rough with Andrew Stadel (@mr_stadel)

Within 30 seconds of beginning Andrew began by using Matt Vaudrey’s “Music Cues“, which I considered implementing this school year. While I did like using them to bring people back together, I didn’t like using them during think time – I kept getting distracted. More importantly, seeing it happen makes me reflect on deciding if I want it in my classroom next year in some fashion.

Andrew broke up his session in three parts and ways to use error analysis. Our essential question when thinking about mistakes was if a student makes a mistake, what do we do next? While I do use mistakes frequently, Andrew pushed us to make routines a norm where we use errors to drive students and conversations forward. Thinking about what’s next this seems like a good routine in a class. Quick take away: Teachers in samples re-wrote/created mistakes instead of direct student work. I think that’s a culture improvement from what I do now.

Moving Forward:
– Be regular about routines about mistakes
– Music Cues?
– When applicable, re-write student mistakes to avoid embarassment
– Experiment in Class – I can’t see everything before I do it so be BOLD

(Digital Resources here.)

Mathematics Teaching as Social Justice

Presented by Rochelle Gutierrez

I was excited by this session, and Rochelle blew me away me with her talk. Within five minutes, she (rightly) critiqued PARCC, Pearson, current thoughts on race and countless other things. She used blunt, truthful language to accurately describe what our students face. I left inspired to become a much more significant actor of social justice though what I do instead of just being a part of a system.

Moving forward:
– Rethink everything I do and why
– Challenge assumptions we make about math education
– Be an advocate for students

Mathematical Practices in AP Calculus

The 2016-17 AP Calculus course is changing slightly and I wanted information about how, why and what’s next for students. Not the most exciting hour, but certainly important.
Quick highlights:

  • 95% of AB is staying the same
  • L’Hopital’s rule is being added back to the curriculum
  • College board made explict the bigger picture thoughts that students in AP and in Pre-AP courses need to be doing. They essentially mirror the SMPs of CCSSM, but are a little more explicit.

Moving Forward:
– Keep this in mind as I rewrite/write curriculum for the SY16-17
– Use CollegeBoard Resources as I redesign

Talk Moves and Structures for cultivating MP3 with E. Statmore

I’ve heard plenty about Talking Points and why it works – but had questions about format, how it looked and in general was pretty uncertain about the structure. I attended her session knowing what was being preached, and still had an enjoyable time. My table (with John Berray) amongst others had a little difficulty conceptualizing the point and wanted to talk through the mathematics instead of following the structure. Grappling with talking points with others was so helpful – it made us think carefully about designing the Talking Points and the purpose. I had questions about ELL students being successful because I feared their difficulty with abstract concepts, but Statmore relieved my fears, saying the structure was helpful (especially “No Comment”). Hearing that she groups students homogenously was also a relief – that seemed to eliminate a lot of my fears. Final kick in the bucket: “Talking points isn’t about getting the mathematics right, it’s about speaking, listening and changing your opinion” I thought the goal was to come to a common understanding about the mathematics (which would be great) but instead the focus is on LISTENING and taking turns and the soft skills students need. Statmore took all my fears, crumpled them up and threw them away.

Moving forward:

  • FInd more examples of Talking Points from #MTBoS
  • Think about HOW to implement this structure in 16-17 (course? frequency? purpose?)

Digital resources

4 thoughts on “#NCTMAnnual: Thursday

  1. Pingback: #NCTMAnnual: Friday | Function of Reflection

  2. Pingback: #NCTMannual: Saturday | Function of Reflection

  3. Pingback: #NCTMAnnual: Wednesday | Function of Reflection

  4. Pingback: #NCTMannual: Final Reflections | Function of Reflection

Leave a Reply

