Review: Systems of Equations

I’ve been reviewing with my students since we came back from spring break (almost a month now).  Last week we covered linear equations which had a ton of hurdles, so this confirmed what the Geometry teacher told me I should work on after our End of Course tests in a few weeks.  

Best surprise of the week: Systems of equations was a BEAUTIFUL DAY of review.  I’d gone into the day dreading it – hoping to drag students through problems.  Instead, first period I asked questions and gave students a place to try problems (problems set up for elimination or graphing) and see what happened.  What happened was amazing.  I don’t know what or how, but students KNEW how to solve systems.  AMEN.  HALLELUJAH.  I told one class that I was incredibly proud of them – and I still am 🙂  

Down side: We struggle(d) with applying our amazing skills (For example: How many hours do to people work to make the same amount of money if they are paid differently?).  I’m focusing on the application in what we review for the next week which should help a little.  

Also, students always want to do what we just finished working on together – Finish working on matricies and then I gave a problem practicing systems.  At least 3 students a class asked how to make a matrix…..which is more evidence that students aren’t truly understanding what questions are asking. 

**This whole post is just more evidence I need to be a much more consistent blogger/record creator. I’m not certain I know how I taught systems this fall so I’m not sure how I can replicate this success next year….you live and you learn.

Leave a Reply

